Four Nighthawks Named to All-Conference Softball Teams

Four Nighthawks Named to All-Conference Softball Teams

MARSHFIELD, Mass. - Nighthawks senior Alexis Vieira (Pawtucket, R.I.) and juniors Arianna Gooden (Bakersfield, Calif.) and Averi Johnson (Oregon City, Ore.) all earned a spot on the All-New England Collegiate Conference Second Team, as announced by the NECC Office on Tuesday afternoon and voted by the coaches of the NECC. Newbury freshman Caroline Mahoney (Easton, Mass.) grabbed a spot on the All-NECC Third Team.

Vieira makes an appearance on the All-NECC team for the first time since her freshman season. Vieira ranked 11th in batting average, hitting a team-best .438 over the course of 16 conference games. In the field, Vieira ranked fifth in assists and was a top-10 player in double plays turned.

Gooden makes her third straight appearance on the All-Conference teams, having been a First-Team selection in each of her first two seasons. In conference play, Gooden batted .377 with 20 hits, including 18 singles. Gooden's 43 hits were second-most on the team.

Johnson's career-best season gave her a nod on the NECC Second Team. The Nighthawks right fielder batted .395 in the conference this season and .404 in all competitions. Johnson led the Nighthawks in runs scored in 2019 and moved her career batting average from .274 coming into the year to .339 by season's end.

Mahoney earned the final spot on the All-Conference Teams as a designated player. The rookie shined in her first season with the Nighthawks, leading the team in hits, doubles, RBIs, and batting average. Mahoney batted .400 in conference and .429 in all games. She finished in the top-six in RBIs, doubles, and home runs in 16 conference games. Her 54 hits this season are tied for the most but a freshman in Nighthawks program history.

Senior Madison Elliott (Windham, Maine) was selected to represent Newbury on the Del Malloy All-Sportsmanship Team.

Eastern Nazarene senior Lauren Clements has been voted as the 2019 Player of the Year while teammate, Elisabeth Schaffer garnered Pitcher of the Year honors. New England College first year, Daelyn Ross was voted as the Rookie of the Year. Closing out the major awards is Eastern Nazarene head coach, Dani Bishop who was voted as the 2019 Coach of the Year. 

Joining Schaffer as First Team pitcher is Taylor Barbour (New England College). The infield is comprised of Player of the Year, Clements at catcher, Rookie of the Year Ross at first base, second base, Chanel Welch (New England College), third base, Riley Pickett (Lesley) and shortstop, Sarah Ellis (Becker). Taking the outfield is Vasia Murphy (Becker), Kori Bow (Eastern Nazarene) and Alexa Scribner (New England College) while Jordan Day (Lesley) closes it out at the designated player. 

The Second Team includes pitchers Samantha Belenchia (Becker) and Jordan Day (Lesley). Taking the infield is catcher, Ally Murphy (Lesley), first base, Katelyn Sylvia (Elms), second base, Mahlia Medina (Lesley), third base, Vieira (Newbury) and shortstop, Madison Messier (Elms). Taking the outfield is Catharine Wrang (Elms), Gooden (Newbury) and Johnson (Newbury) while Suzanne Vachon (Mitchell) rounds it out at the designated player. 

Third team is comprised of pitchers, Lisa Lusardi (Elms) and Jen Thorton (Lesley). The infield includes catcher, Alex Lopez (Mitchell), first base, Kiley Ozaki (Eastern Nazarene), second base, Alyssa Columb (Becker), third base, Lauren Niemann (Becker) and shortstop, Ashleigh Acker (Lesley). In the outfield is Shawnie Clark (New England College), Miranda Seacord (Dean) and Kayla Doherty (Elms) while Mahoney (Newbury) closes it as the designated player.