Withrow Earns Rookie of the Year; Nighthawks Men Claim 5th at NECC Championships

Photo: Katie Collins
Photo: Katie Collins

Westfield, Mass. -- For the fourth straight year the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) men's cross country title belongs to Southern Vermont College. The Mountaineers completed the four-peat Saturday morning at Stanley Park in Westfield, Massachusetts

Three SVC runners placed in the top five including 2017 NECC Runner of the Year Marc Brandmeyer (27:50:92).  Brandmeyer took home the NECC ROY honors for fourth consecutive year, capping off a tremendous career in Bennington, Vt.

Former NECC Rookie of the Year Davante Smith (28:52:61) placed second while Mitchell's David Still (29:00.94) rounded out the top three. Newbury's Geralson Withrow (29:11.23) took home 2017 NECC Rookie of the Year honors after finishing fourth overall and first among rookie runners.

Joining Brandmeyer, Smith, Still and Withrow on All-NECC First Team were SVC's Caldwell Holden (29:53:40), Dean's Ryan Glynn (30:41.61) and Wheelock's Riley Cushing (31:01.26).

Finishing second in the NECC team standings was Wheelock College with a total of 58 points. The Wildcats placed two runners in the top ten, Cushing and Colin Marie (31:15.56).

Rounding out the top 10 was Newbury's David Jean (31:16.60) and Rich Hernandez (31:18:68) from Elms College.

Wheelock's Wole Oke took home 2017 NECC Coach of the Year honors following his program's 2nd place performance.

NECC All-Conference First Team
1. Marc Brandmeyer, Southern Vermont College
2. Davante Smith, Southern Vermont College
3. David Still, Mitchell College
4. Geralson Withrow, Newbury College
5. Caldwell Holden, Southern Vermont College
6. Ryan Glynn, Dean College
7. Riley Cushing, Wheelock College

NECC All-Conference Second Team
8. Colin Marie, Wheelock College
9. David Jean, Newbury College
10. Rich Hernandez, Elms College
11. Matt Alport, Dean College
12. Christ Genty, Wheelock College
13. Ross Rubin, Dean College
14. Mohamed Mohamed, Wheelock College