Rory Dobbins Earns Spot on All-Conference Second Team

Rory Dobbins Earns Spot on All-Conference Second Team

MARSHFIELD, Mass. - Nighthawks sophomore Rory Dobbins (Warwick, R.I.) became the first Nighthawk in three years to be named to an All-Conference Team, landing on the New England Collegiate Conference Second Team, as voted by the coaches of the NECC and announced by the conference office on Tuesday morning.

Dobbins, who is the first Nighthawks to be named to an All-Conference Team since Wade Robidoux accomplished the feat in 2016, is the only member of the All-NECC teams not from Elms, Endicott, or Nichols.

Dobbins, a sophomore outside hitter, ranked sixth in the conference in kills per set over the course of the season and eighth in the same category against NECC opponents. His 2.99 K/S overall is the most by a Nighthawk in the last two seasons, as then-junior Josh Thorne finished the 2017 season with the same 2.99 K/S.

In total kills, Dobbins finished the season with 239 kills in 25 matches, ranking him fifth-best in the NECC. Cutting the list to just NECC opponents, Dobbins ranked third in total kills with 127, falling just under the Bison duo of Ray Wang and Lance Law, both of whom made appearances on the All-Conference Teams.

Dobbins set a career-high for kills in a match with 20 against Eastern Nazarene on March 16 and finished a match with at least 17 kills on six different occasions this season.

Fellow sophomore Alvin Fernandes (Taunton, Mass.) joins the All-Conference Teams for the Nighthawks as a member of the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team.

Elms sophomore Jeremy Torres (Juncos, P.R.) was voted the 2019 NECC Player of the Year, while his coach, Sheila Gisbrecht was named Coach of the Year. Endicott senior, Ryan Healy (Fair Lawn, N.J.) was named the Defensive Player of the Year while Nichols freshman Lance Law (Taunton, Mass.) claimed Rookie of the Year accolades.

Player of the Year Jeremy Torres is joined on the first team by his teammate Jovanny Torres (Juncos, P.R.) while Law was also voted to the first team. Endicott's Bryn Lipton (Rockville, Ill.), Donovan Dey (Fairport, N.Y.), and Jeremy Doski (Sandy Hook, Conn.) rounded out the remaining first-team selections.

Dobbins is joined on the second team by three Elms Blazers, John Dunphy (Farmington, Conn.), Carlos Mercado (Barranquitas, P.R.) and Jake Johnson (Warwick, R.I.). While Endicott's Seth Braquet (Destrehan, La.) and Nichols Ray Wang (Chengdu, China) round on the second team selections.

Dobbins and the Nighthawks begin their playoff run this evening as they travel to Eastern Nazarene College for an NECC Quarterfinal Match. First serve is set for 7:00 p.m.


2019 NECC Men's Volleyball All-Conference 

First Team All-NECC

Jeremy Torres, Elms

Jovanny Torress, Elms

Bryn Lipton, Endicott

Donovan Dey, Endicott

Jeremy Doski, Endicott

Lance Law, Nichols


Second Team All-NECC

John Dunphy, Elms

Carlos Mercado, Elms

Jake Johnson, Elms

Seth Braquet, Endicott

Rory Dobbins, Newbury

Ray Wang, Nichols


Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Chadd Pelletier, Dean

Danny Blue, Eastern Nazarene

Tyler Porcello, Elms

Donovan Dey, Endicott

Owen Simpson, Lesley

Alvin Fernandes, Newbury

Oscar Chavez, Nichols

Skylar O'Dell, Southern Vermont


Portions of this release courtesy the NECC Office