Withrow, Smith Voted NECC Track Athlete & Field Athlete of the Year

Withrow, Smith Voted NECC Track Athlete & Field Athlete of the Year

MARSHFIELD, Mass. –  The NECC announced its 2019 Men's Track and Field All-Conference teams and major award winners on Thursday afternoon. The awards were voted on by the conference's five coaches following the conclusion of the NECC Championship meet.

NECC Champions Newbury College and Eastern Nazarene College dominated the All-Conference selections as their programs combined to win 17 of the 19 events.

Newbury sophomore Geralson Withrow (Mystic, Conn.) was voted the 2019 NECC Track Athlete of the Year, while his teammate senior Jarrod Smith (Watertown, N.Y.) was named Field Athlete of the Year. Nighthawks' Head Coach, Henry Morales earned Coach of the Year accolades by a unanimous vote of his peers after leading Newbury to a conference championship. 

Eastern Nazarene's Travelis Mosely (Pompano Beach, Fla.) earned Rookie of the Year accolades after strong performances in four events for the Lions on Championship Weekend.

Withrow, a long distance runner for the Nighthawks competing in events like the 5K and 10K, finished in the top-12 in his distance running events on six different occasions this season.

For Smith, he finished in the top-five in either the long jump or high jump on two occasions this year and was a top-12 finisher in those events five different times.

Newbury's junior Nicholas Luciano (Vineland, N.J.) was named to the NECC Del Malloy All-Sportsmanship Team.

Head Coach Henry Morales, who was named the Women's Track & Field Coach of the Year, made it a clean sweep, claiming the Men's Track & Field Coach of the Year.


2019 Men's Track & Field All-NECC Team

100-meter: Travelis Moseley, Eastern Nazarene College

200-meter: Travelis Moseley, Eastern Nazarene College

400-meter: Andrew Kalombo, Newbury College

800-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College 

1500-meter: Kevin Rodrigues, Eastern Nazarene College

5000-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College 

10000-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College 

110-meter Hurdles: Joel Piercey, Eastern Nazarene College

400-meter Hurdles: Jarrod Smith, Newbury College

3000-meter Steeplechase: Anthony Crocco, Newbury College

4x100-meter Relay: Eastern Nazarene College; Ralph Tima, Travelis Moseley, Jaeden Ortiz, Shawn Wright

4x400-meter Relay: Eastern Nazarene College; Jaeden Ortiz, Ralph Tima, Kevin Rop, Travelis Moseley,

4x800-meter Relay: Newbury College; Geralson Withrow, Anthony Crocco, Joan Guzman, David Jean

High Jump: Rory Dobbins, Newbury College

Long Jump: Mike Fleming, Lesley University

Triple Jump: Jarrod Smith, Newbury College

Shot Put: Robert Jean Charles, Elms College

Discus: Rory Dobbins, Newbury College

Javelin: Rene Lahens, Newbury College