De Andrade Earns NECC First Team Honors; Teixiera Named To 2nd Team

Photo: Katie Collins
Photo: Katie Collins

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Sophomore Nilton De Andrade (Boston, MA) and senior Kevin Teixeira (Boston, MA) earned NECC All-Conference First and Second Team honors, respectively.  The awards were voted on by the conference's eight coaches following the conclusion of the regular season with the teams announced by the NECC on Tuesday morning. 

This marks the second consecutive season in which De Andrade has received First Team honors. The 2016 NECC Rookie of the Year led the Nighthawks with 16 goals and 33 points.  De Andrade now has 32 goals and four assists in his two-year career at Newbury.

Following a knee injury that sidelined him for the entire 2016 season, Kevin Teixeira led this year's team with three assists and was third in goals scored with two. This marks the first conference honors received by Teixeira during this three-season career at Newbury. 

Junior Jose Palma represented the Nighthawks on the All-Sportsmanship Team.  

First Team All-NECC

F – Felipe Campos, Dean (Fr., Brockton, Mass.)  

F – Nilton De Andrade, Newbury (So., Boston, Mass.)

F – Babba Jaden, Elms (So., Clarkston, Ga.)

F – Pepe Vieira, Dean (Sr., Brockton, Mass.)

M – Santiago Cardona, Dean (So., Revere, Mass.)

M – C.J. Dabkowski, Elms (Sr., Bristol, Conn.)

M – Kahlil Peters, Elms (Sr., Hartford, Conn.)

D – TJ Condon, Mitchell (Jr., North Stonington, Conn.)

D – William Ferguson, Mitchell (So., Old Lyme, Conn.)

D – Patrick Gomes, Wheelock (Fr., Lisbon, Portugal)

GK – Nathan Silveira, Dean (Fr., East Providence, R.I.)


Second Team All-NECC

F- Jared Lacoste, Southern Vermont (Fr., Arlington, Vt.)

F- Nuno Pereira, Lesley (Sr., Sao Filipe, Fogo, Cape Verde)

F- Andrew Storton, Mitchell (Jr., Oxford, England)

F- Anthony Vitta, Lesley (Sr., Oceanside, N.Y.)

M- Leemar Baptista, Becker (Fr., Brockton, Mass.)

M- Kevin Teixeira, Newbury (Sr., Boston, Mass.)

M- Jack Wadleigh, Lesley (Fr., Glastonbury, Conn.)

D – Ben Heischuber, Lesley (So., Holliston, Mass.)

D – Justin Kassouf, Elms (Sr., Milford, Conn.)

D – Cristiano Martins, Dean (Fr., Brockton, Mass.)

GK - Jordan Bernard, Wheelock (Sr., Westbrook, Conn.)


All-NECC Sportsmanship Team

Nathan Cornejo, Becker (Jr., Douglas, Mass.)

Brendan Pacheco, Dean (Jr., Fall River, Mass.)

Mike DiPasquale, Elms (Sr., Meriden, Conn.)  

Andrew Medeiros, Lesley (So., Bristol, R.I.)

Eduardo Tineo, Mitchell (Fr., Waterford, Conn.)

Jose Palma, Newbury (Jr., Brookline, Mass.)

Lee Dennis, Southern Vermont (So., Chocorua, N.H.)

Matt Woolverton, Wheelock (Jr., Cumberland, Maine)