Langston, Third Team, Horwitz, Sportsmanship in NECC Awards

Photo Credit: Dylan Foran
Photo Credit: Dylan Foran

ATTLEBORO, Mass. - Nighthawks junior Jeduan Langston (Roxbury, Mass.) has been elected to the New England Collegiate Conference All-Third Team in 2016-17, as announced by the NECC office this afternoon. It's Langston's first nomination to the NECC All-Conference Teams in his three year career at Newbury College.

Nighthawks senior Dan Horwitz (West Hartford, Conn.) also grabbed a spot on the NECC All-Conference Teams. His nomination to the All-Sportsmanship Team is the first All-NECC award of his career.

It was Becker College who cleaned up the major awards, winning Coach of the Year, Player of the Year, and Rookie of the Year in the NECC. 

Head coach Brian Gorman was selected as the Coach of the Year, by a vote of his peers, while Samuel Durodola and Antonio White Jr. earned NECC Player and Rookie of the year respectively.

Coach Brian Gorman won his fourth career NECC Coach of the Year award, leading the Hawks to their second conference championship and third NCAA appearence in 10 years.

Durodola finished his junior campaign leading the conference with a field goal percentage of 60.1, rebounds with 180, and also landing second with 22 points per game in NECC play. 

White Jr. averaged 11.1 points and 6.8 rebounds in his freshman campaign, while shooting 46 percent from the field.

Defensive Player of the Year honors went to Conny Ihearahu from Elms College, while teammate Symon Smith earned first team honors. Ihearahu led the conference with 33 blocks this season and also finished third with 10.5 rebounds per game. Smith powered the Blazers offense as he led the league with 25.5 points per game in conference play.

Full List of All-Conference Award Winners

Coach of the Year: Brian Gorman, Becker
Player of the Year: Samuel Durodola, Becker
Defensive Player of the Year: Conny Ihearahu, Elms
Rookie of the Year: Antonio White Jr., Becker (Fr., G, Middletown, Conn.)

First Team

Kyle Credle, Becker (Sr., G, Queens, N.Y.)
Samuel Durodola, Becker (Jr., F, Rosedale, N.Y.)
Symon Smith, Elms (Sr., G, Oklahoma City, Okla.)
Rayshawn Taylor, Southern Vermont (Sr., G/F, Silver Spring, Md.)
Nicholas Fenton, Wheelock Sr., G, East Hartford, Conn.)

Second Team

Kareem Davis, Becker (So., G, Lowell, Mass.)
Xeo Golding, Lesley (So., F, Windermere, Fla.)
Devon Mayo, Lesley (Sr., G, Newport News, Va.)
Nate Goldsmith, Southern Vermont (Sr., G/F, Capitol Heights, Md.)
Anthony Williams, Wheelock (Sr., F, White Plains, N.Y.)

Third Team

Conny Ihearahu, Elms (Sr., G/F, Largo, Md.)
Domenico Santiago, Mitchell (So., F/C, Port St. Lucie, Fla.)
Jeduan Langston, Newbury (Jr., G, Roxbury, Mass.)
Chris Leak Jr., Regis (Sr., F, New Haven, Conn.)
Mike Pierre, Southern Vermont (Jr., G, Melrose, N.Y.)

All-Sportsmanship Team

Khairi Mosley, Becker (Sr., G, Elizabeth, N.J.)
Keeshaun King, Elms (Jr., G, Jacksonville, Fla.)
Will Cuffee, Lelsey (So., F, Amherst, Mass.)
Mack Bertram-Gregory, Mitchell (Jr., F, Stockton, Conn.)
Dan Horwitz, Newbury (Sr., G, West Hartford, Conn.)
Jaiwon Martin, Regis (Sr., F, Coral Springs, Fla.)
Ervin Cook, Southern Vermont (Sr., G, Germantown, Md.)
Matt Eason, Wheelock (Sr., G, East Hartford, Conn.)