Forrest Wraps Up Career as NECC's Pitcher of the Year

Photo Credit: Dylan Foran
Photo Credit: Dylan Foran

ATTLEBORO, Mass. - Nighthawks senior Ethan Forrest (East Bridgewater, Mass.) has been named the 2017 New England Collegiate Conference Pitcher of the Year as voted by the member schools of the NECC, claiming an award that has eluded the Nighthawks winningest pitcher, until the announcement today by the conference office.

Forrest becomes the only player in NECC history to be named Rookie of the Year in his freshman season and Pitcher of the Year in his senior season.

In all, Forrest is the third player in conference history to win both awards throughout the course of his career and the only Nighthawks player to be named Pitcher of the Year.

"Forrest is an incredibly talented pitcher who had an even more incredible season," said Head Coach Kraig Kupiec. "This is a great honor for Forrest, one that he, and the Newbury community, should be extremely proud of."

Forrest finished the season 5-1 in the conference with a 2.09 ERA, dropping his only decision to Lesley in late March.

In the entirety of his season, Forrest finished with a record of 9-2 with a 2.38 ERA while holding hitters to an average of .235 in 72 total innings pitched.

Forrest also led all of NCAA Division III Baseball in complete games with nine, while his nine victories were eighth-most in Division III.

In his final conference start at Becker on April 22, Forrest became only the second pitcher in NECC history to record 200 strikeouts in his career.  

"Forrest has tremendous work ethic improving at his craft," said Kupiec. "He was able to display that hard work and work ethic every conference weekend for us."

In his four years as a Nighthawks pitcher, Forrest holds at least 13 different program records including numerous career marks, such as strikeouts, career ERA, and career wins total. 


See Below for Full List of All-Conference Award Winners:


Player of the Year: Garet Griffin, Mitchell College

Pitcher of the Year: Ethan Forrest, Newbury College

Rookie of the Year: Matt Plasse, Elms College

Coach of the Year: Billy Cather, Lesley University

All-Conference First Team

1B – Francis Prettitore, Mitchell (Sr., Bayville, Conn.)

2B – Kyle Hartenstein, Mitchell (Jr., Meriden, Conn.)

3B – Tim Gelzinis, Elms (Sr., North Dighton, Mass.)

SS – Garet Griffin, Mitchell (Jr., Moosup, Conn.)

C – Dan Mullins, Daniel Webster (So., Nashua, N.H.)

P – Matt Plasse, Elms (So., Westfield, Mass.)

P – Jacob Graveline, Elms (Fr., Palmer, Mass.)

P – Tom Muratore, Lesley (Jr., Mamaroneck, N.Y.)

P – Ethan Forrest, Newbury (Sr., East Bridgewater, Mass.)

OF – Josiah Shepherd, Becker (Jr., Providence, R.I.)

OF – Stephen Harrison, Elms (Sr., Southbury, Conn.)

OF – Ian Hruniak, Newbury (Sr., Lutz, Fla.)

DH – Niko Bedell, Becker (Sr., Manorville, N.Y.)

All-Conference Second Team

1B – Ryan Pumphret, Lesley (So., Shrewsbury, Mass.)

2B – Vaibhav Desai, Becker (Sr., Waltham, Mass.)

3B – TJ Sempkowski, Becker (Oceanport, N.J.)

SS – Chris Testa, Becker (Jr., Providence, R.I.)

C – Jacob Cervantes, Lesley (So., Oxnard, Calif.)

P - Tyler Wagar, Becker (Sr., Uxbridge, Mass.)

P – Nick Ladevaio, Lesley (Jr., Mineola, N.Y.)

P – Axel De Jesus, Mitchell (Sr., Stratford, Conn.)

P – Eddie Santiago, Mitchell (Jr., New London, Conn.)

OF – Aedin Wadja, Elms (Sr., Lebanon, Conn.)

OF – Alex Hoss, Elms (So., Stafford Springs, Conn.)

OF – Tristan Hurley, Mitchell (Sr., Mystic, Conn.)

DH – Anthony Mercuri, Southern Vermont (Sr., Ridge, N.Y.)

All-Sportsmanship Team

Michael Bianco, Becker (Fr., 3B, Manorville, N.Y.)

Dylan McDonough, Daniel Webster (Jr., C, Billerica, Mass.)

Cody Lemieux, Elms (Sr., P, Torrington, Conn.)

Aaron Rhodes, Lesley (Jr., INF, Chittenden, Vt.)

Mike Jason, Mitchell (Sr., OF, Chepachet, R.I.)

Jim McGrorry, Newbury (Jr., P/INF, Oakhurst, N.J.)

Jordan Banks, Southern Vermont (Fr., 1B, Bristol, Conn.)