Eleven Nighthawks Named NECC Academic All-Conference

Eleven Nighthawks Named NECC Academic All-Conference

A total of 95 student-athletes have been named to the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Academic All-Conference Team for the winter/spring semester, it was announced today by Commissioner Del Malloy. The NECC began its inaugural year in 2008 with nine full-time members including Bay Path College (Longmeadow, Mass.), Becker College (Leicester, Mass.), Daniel Webster College (Nashua, N.H.), Elms College (Chicopee, Mass.), Lesley University (Cambridge, Mass.), Mitchell College (New London, Conn.), Newbury College (Brookline, Mass.), Southern Vermont College (Bennington, Vt.) and Wheelock College (Boston, Mass.).

To be eligible for NECC Academic All-Conference, a student-athlete must post a minimum grade point average of 3.40 on a scale of 4.00 and must be a sophomore or higher in class standings. Student-athletes who competed in men’s and women’s basketball, baseball, softball, men’s tennis and men’s volleyball were eligible for the winter/spring NECC Academic All-Conference.

Eleven Nighthawk student-athletes received the honor and are listed below:

Men’s Basketball

Michael Foley (Oxford, ME)*

Women’s Basketball

Amy Chen (Chelmsford, MA)

Jessica Graus (Rochester, NY)



James Languirand (Biddeford, ME)

Patrick Curry (Hampstead, NH)

Andrew Lundebjerg (Berlin, CT)



Sarah Thornton (Clifton Springs, NY)


Men’s Tennis

Matthew Talamantes (Los Angeles, CA)*

Michael Foley (Oxford, ME)*

Benjamin Weiner (Barrington, RI)


Men’s Volleyball

Josh Aberly (Palatine, IL)

Matthew Talamantes (Los Angeles, CA)*

Mark Thomas (Wilbraham, MA)


* denotes dual-sport athletes


To view the full release, please visit the NECC website at: