Newbury Student-Athletes Commended at 2017 Awards Banquet

Photo Credit: Dylan Foran
Photo Credit: Dylan Foran

WATCH: Click Here

BROOKLINE, Mass. - For seven Nighthawk student-athletes, today marked a day that etched their names in the history of Newbury College, as the selected student-athletes, along with one coach, were awarded a variety of awards at the 2017 Nighthawks Athletic Banquet.

It was a big night for Nighthawks senior basketball student-athlete Dan Horwitz, who took home Newbury College's highest honor; the Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as well as the Male Sportsmanship Award.

Horwitz currently holds a 3.84 GPA, as of the start of Spring 2017. In his last six semesters, Dan has received no less than an A- in any of his courses and Horwitz becomes the first men's basketball player to win this award since 2004.

"I wish my best to all the seniors in their future endeavors and for continued success to the underclassmen," said Horwitz. "I will miss my Newbury family and appreciate all of your overwhelming support over the past four years. Stay positive and when you fall down, always get right back up!" 

The Female Scholar-Athlete Honors went to junior women's volleyball student-athlete Julia Leggett, who holds an astounding 3.99 GPA, as of the start of the Spring 2017 semester. This past season, Leggett was also named the NECC Defensive Player of the Year.

"I'm incredibly proud and honored to be named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year," said Leggett. "Organization, support and the ability to ask for help have all led me to this point."

The Nighthawk of the Year Award, reserved to student-athletes whose performance makes them eligible for this award, went to a pair of seniors who are arguably the best student-athletes in their program's history; men's soccer and baseball star Ethan Forrest and women's volleyball star Courtney Banks.

Forrest, who set countless career-highs in soccer and even more career program records in baseball, will graduate from Newbury College with at least 15 program records between the two sports.

"Thank you to my friends and family, my teammates and coaches for their overwhelming support," said Forrest. I will never forget all that they have done for me in my four years at Newbury College."

Banks, who also holds numerous program records in women's volleyball, earned the program record for career kills with 1,345 in the final match of her career.

The Nighthawk Rookie of the Year Award is intended to celebrate the athletic performance of First-Year Student-Athletes that perform best in their sport.

The Female Rookie of the Year Award went to softball's Arianna Gooden, who leads the NECC in batting average among rookies at .406. Since returning from Arizona in March, Gooden has recorded at least one hit in 19 of 22 games.

"I'm excited and happy to win this award," said Gooden. "This is such an honor in my first year of being here and being so far away from home."

The Male Rookie of the Year Award was given to men's soccer forward Nilton De Andrade, who led the league in goal scoring with 16 and was named the NECC Rookie of the Year.

Gooden wasn't the only softball player taking home honors on Friday night as senior Naomi Ricciotti, also a member of the cross country team, was awarded the Nighthawks Female Sportsmanship Honor.

The party didn't stop for softball as Head Coach Caitlin Benyi was named the 2017 Nighthawks Coach of the Year.

Benyi has the Nighthawks sitting at 12-1 in the NECC; the best 13-game stretch in conference program history. The Nighthawks hold a 1.5 game lead over Becker and Regis with five games remaining on the Nighthawks schedule.

"It's with great honor I accept this award," said Benyi. "I'm proud of my team, who always makes my job easier and I look forward to more hardware in the future."

In total, 41 athletes were also recipients of the Nighthawks Academic Award for a GPA of 3.3 or above. The list includes:

Tina Babcock, Courtney Banks, Chris Beaudoin, Jessica Bergeron, Elias Bouchamoun, David Center, Casey Cisero, Lindsey Clark, Faith Cordes, Andrew DiRito, Nick Dorazio, Katie Flake, Rebecca Foland, Dan Horwitz, Ian Hruniak, Emily Humphries, Arianna Gooden, Nicole Goncalves, Meaghan Irving, Averi Johnson, Andrew Kalombo, Elizabeth Kia, Julia Leggett, Samantha Libby, Nicholas Luciano, Jahna MacNamee, Jennifer McDonald, Jim McGrorry, Alina Milauskas, Alexa Mummery, Keely Molloy, Isabelle Pafford, Jake Pringle, Brian Rhone, Noelle Sass, Natasha Simon, Mallory Stefan, Billy Stephen, Mackenzie Tourville, Alydia Veiga, and Alexis Vieira.